Day 1

Song: Little Booty Girl ~ Thunderheist

Scent: Swank ~  Simply cool, the essence of Lounge: the scent of a crisp pomegranate martini.

Day one of 8 Elements, this was the “easy” day. I hear the 8 Elements puts the INTENCE in Intensive. That makes my anxiety act up and it’s only day one.

Really makes me worry about what I have gotten myself into. As I sit here in my cheap motel whose internet is worse than MINet. I’ve already done most of my homework. There are about 20 people in the class and it’s at Datura. It has an amazing feeling, and of course Rachel and Sol are so wonderful. There are women from all over the word here for this. Someone from, Italy, Mexico, Korea (she now lives in San Francisco), Columbia (she now lives in Huston), and Russia (she now lives in Utah), Canada and people all over the US.  I’m pretty excited that one of my classmates from NagaSita’s class is there with me as are three people I know from the Costa Rica retreats. So I have a ton of support here and I hope I’ll just gain more from getting to know the women here.

When we took a break Rachel came over to talk to me. And said that she heard what happened between Matt and me. And asked what’s going on and if we were still having sex. I told her no that that was one of the reasons we aren’t together anymore. She says that we are handling this rather adult like. I can’t say I always agree as there is a lot of stuff that didn’t use to that now drives me nuts about him.

But I am here alone in my motel and I am just diving in head first into this week. It will be a week of growth and change I am sure. Going to try to think of Matt as little as possible and just work on myself, might be hard but I have to try. This week is for ME.

But this is awesome where else can you bellydance to Tom Waits, Thunderheist, Mos Def, just to name a little bit of the music that Rachel put on today. I will have to see what tomorrow holds. I think it is time for me to go take a LONG HOT shower and get a cup of tea and wind down for the night. I’ll post more later.

3 Responses to “Day 1”

  1. Kate Says:

    It’s so nice to read about your great experience there, and how you’re handling things in such a positive way ^__^

  2. Christina Edingloh Says:

    Thanks for sharing, Emily! I’m sure this week will be so good for you. Even if it is hard. You know, I told you I tend to burst out in tears in hard classes. I can get really frustrated, but so far, any time that happened, it also helped open up and losen tight knots inside myself – the transformative power of dance, I guess. And with Rachel you’ll have the best guidance through emotional turmoil as well. I can’t imagine anything better than a frustrating, hard-as-hell dance class week for forgetting about love lost and reconnecting to the source of love inside of you. You’ll come out of this shining! ❤ Oh, and give a big hug to Happy from me. I'll have to disappoint her about Costa Rica next year – no money – but don't tell her that! Lol.


Leave a Reply

